.
Philosophy 3020
Special Topics: Language
410-0600N M W 0132 LOCKETT
Exam time: Wendesday, Dec 10, 3:00-5:00 P.M.
 
Instructor: Jon Cogburn
Instructor's Office: 105 Coates
Instructor's Office Hours: M,W 2:00-3:00
Instructor's e-mail: joncogburn@yahoo.com
 
Course's Purpose:
To learn the main arguments from the twentieth century's "linguistici turn" in analytic philosophy. Since much of this knowledge is presupposed in contemporary published philosophy, this course will help prepare students for graduate level work in philosophy.
 
Reading:
All of the course readings are from articles provided by the professor and the following.
Philosophy of Language, Second Edition, Alexander Miller
It is available at the LSU bookstore.
 
Requirements:
Participation Grade. Students are required to participate constructively in class discussion. Each student will be able to miss twoclass periods with no effect on the final grade. For each absence after that, one point is deducted from the final grade. Note that no distinction is made between excused or unexcused absences, since this is a participation grade, not an attendence grade.
 
Homework 25%. Unless otherwise announced, homework is due at the beginning of the class period after it is assigned.
 
Miderm exam 35% Exam help will be distributed one week before each exam.
 
Final exam 40%.
 
Office Hour Policy:
Students are strongly recommended to make use of the instructor's office hours throughout the semester. 
 
Time to Bail if Professor is Not in Class:
If, due to an emergency, the professor does not show up within fifteen minutes of the scheduled beginning of class (i.e. by 4:25), then just split. Please do not contact the office staff with questions on that day. You will be e-mailed.
 
Plagiarism and Cheating
The Dean of Students office defines plagiarism in this manner.
Plagiarism-plagiarism is defined as the unacknowledged inclusion, in work submitted for credit, of someone else's words, ideas, or data. When a student submits work for credit that includes the words, ideas, or data of others, the source of this information must be acknowledged through complete, accurate, and specific footnote references, and, if verbatim statements are included, through quotation marks as well. Failure to identify any source, published or unpublished, copyrighted or uncopyrighted, from which information, terms, phrases, or concepts have been taken, constitutes plagiarism. Students should also take special note that failure to acknowledge study aids such as Cliff's Notes, encyclopedias, or other common reference books, also constitutes plagiarism. Only universally available facts, e.g., the date of Abraham Lincoln's death or Washington's birthdate, are excluded from such documentation requirements. By placing his or her name on work submitted for credit, the student certifies the originality of all work not otherwise identified by appropriate acknowledgments;

Note: Cut and pasting off of web sites without proper citation constitutes plagiarism! For guidelines on how to cite material quoted from web pages, go to http://www.library.wwu.edu/ref/Refhome/chicago.html .
 
I will report any suspected instance of it to the Dean of Student's office. Anyone I suspect of cheating on in-class or at-home assignements will be reported to the Dean of Student's office.
Tentative Schedule:
 
Note:  This schedule is only tentative.  Any changes will be announced in class, and then updated here on the site.

 

Week 1
Monday, Aug. 25 
Introductions
Wednesday, Aug. 27
Chapter 1 (handout/homework 1 - first order logic into natural language)
Week 2
Monday, Sept. 1
Labor Day holiday; no classes
Wednesday, Sept. 3
no classes due to Hurricane Gustav
Week 3
Monday, Sept. 8
Chapter 1
Wednesday, Sept. 10
Chapter 1 (handout/homework 2 - A Fregean functional semantics, part 1: functions, names, and predicates)
Week 4
Monday, Sept. 15
Chapter 1 (handout/homework 3 - A Fregean functional semantics, part 2: propositional connnectives)
Wednesday, Sept. 17
Chapter 1 Fregean functional semantics, part 3: quantifiers
Week 5
Monday, Sept. 22
Chapter 2
Wednesday, Sept. 24
Chapter 2
Week 6
Monday, Sept. 29
Chapter 2
Wednesday, Oct. 1
Chapter 3
Week 7
Monday, Oct. 6
Chapter 3
Wednesday, Oct. 8
Fall holiday; no classes
Week 8
Midsemester examination period
Monday, Oct. 13
Chapter 3 continued handout on Ayer
Wednesday, Oct. 15
handout on Ayer
test help distributed
Week 9
Monday, Oct. 20
handout on Ayer
21 Midsemester grades due in Office of the University Registrar
Wednesday, Oct. 22
Midterm Exam
Week 10
Monday, Oct. 27
Chapter 4
Wednesday, Oct. 29
Chapter 4
Week 11
Monday, Nov. 3 
Chapter 4
Wednesday, Nov. 5
Chapter 5
Week 12
Monday, Nov. 10
Chapter 5
Wednesday, Nov. 12
Chapter 5
Week 13
Monday, Nov. 17
Chapter 6
Wednesday, Nov. 19
Chapter 6
Week 14
Monday, Nov. 24
Chapter 6
Wednesday, Nov. 26 
Thanksgiving holiday; no classes
Week 15
Monday, Dec. 1
Chapter 9
Wednesday, Dec. 3
Chapter 9
Week 16--Final Exam Period
Final Exam Wendesday, Dec 10, 3:00-5:00 P.M.

setstats setstats