.
Philosophy 3020
Epistemology
Room: 241 Himes
Time: 1:40-3:00; T, Th
Exam time: Monday, May 8, 5:30-7:30 PM
 
Instructor: Jon Cogburn
Instructor's Office: 312 Coates
Instructor's Office Hours: F 2:30-4:30
Instructor's e-mail: joncogburn@yahoo.com
 
Course's Purpose:
 
The purpose of this course is to familiarize the student with those key issues in epistemology which (in the instructor's opinion) should be a part of every philosopher's cultural baggage, as well as to provide the student with the tools to continue her own research.
 
Reading:
 
All of the course readings are from the following sources.

Stephen Cade Hetherington, Knowledge Puzzles: An Introduction to Epistemology (Westview, 1996).
Paul K. Moser and Arnold vander Nat, Human Knowledge: Classical and Contemporary Approaches: Third Edition (Oxford University Press, 2003).
 
Requirements:
 
The final grade is a function of a take-home midterm exam (40%), and a take-home final exam (60%). Excellent class participation will result in possible bonus of up to 10%.
 
Take-home exams are not collaborative! Any pooling of cognitive resources, even to the extent of discussing the content of the exams with one another will be considered academic dishonesty. (The instructor realizes this is draconian, but any other policy results in an unfortunate sorites series.)
 
All papers must fulfill a number of formatting requirements:  (1) They must have one inch margins, (2) they must be typed in 12 point Times or 12 point Times-Roman font, (3) page numbers must be centered at the bottom of the page, (4) papers must be double spaced (with the exception of lengthy passages (longer than two lines worth) of cited material which is one and a half spaced and indented on both sides), (5) papers must be printed out with either an ink jet or laser printer, (6) papers must be stapled together (do not use binders or folders of any sort), and (7) student's name, the date, and the time her course meets must be at the top right hand corner of the first page.  No deviation from these requirements are accepted. The instructor would vastly prefer papers to be justified on both right and left sides. However if you are using a printer in one of the LSU computer labs, such justification sometimes results in spaces between letters. If this is the case, justify left side.
 
Office Hour Policy:
 
Students are strongly recommended to make use of the instructor's office hours throughout the semester. 
 
Tentative Schedule:
 
Note:  This schedule is only tentative.  Any changes will be announced in class, and then updated here on the site.
 
Week 1
Tuesday, Jan. 17 
introduction
 
Thursday, Jan. 19
KP ch. 1, introducing epistemology.
KP ch. 2, truth.
 
Week 2
Tuesday, Jan. 24
KP ch. 3, belief.
KP ch. 4, justification.
 
Thursday, Jan. 26
KP ch. 5, the gettier problem.
HK essay 20, Edmund Gettier, "Is Justified True Belief Knowledge."
 
Week 3
Tuesday, Jan. 31
HK essay 21, Richard Feldman, "An Alleged Defect in Gettier Counter-Examples."
HK essay 22, John Pollock, "The Gettier Problem."
 
Thursday, Feb. 2
KP ch. 6, surface reliability.
KP ch. 7, underlying reliability.
 
Week 4
Tuesday, Feb. 7
KP ch. 8, causality.
Thursday, Feb. 9
KP ch. 9, defeasibility.
KP ch. 10, social defeasiblity.
 
Week 5
Tuesday, Feb. 14
KP ch. 11, false evidence.
KP ch. 12, induction.
 
Thursday, Feb. 16
KP ch. 13, a priori knowledge.
 
Week 6
Tuesday, Feb. 21
HK essay 23, Clarence Irving Lewis, "A Pragmatic Conception of the A Priori."
HK essay 24, Roderick Chisholm, "The Truths of Reason."
 
Thursday, Feb. 23
HK essay 25, Saul A. Kripke, "A Priori Knowledge, Necessity, and Contingency."
 
Week 7
Tuesday, Feb. 27 Mardis Gras Holiday--No class
Thursday, Mar. 2
KP ch. 14, externalism.
KP ch. 15, internalism.
 
Week 8
march 6-11: midsemester exams period
Tuesday, Mar. 7 
KP ch. 16, vagueness.
 
Thursday, Mar. 9
KP ch. 17, fallibilisim.
 
Week 9
Tuesday, Mar. 14
march 14: mid-semester grades due at noon
 
Thursday, Mar. 17
KP ch. 18, infallibility skepticism.
KP ch. 19, external world skepticism.
 
Week 10
Tuesday, March 21 Instructor Presenting at University of Central Oklahoma--No class
Thursday, March 23 Instructor Presenting at University of Central Oklahoma--No class
Week 11
Tuesday, March 28 
KP ch. 20, inductive skepticism.
KP ch. 21, rule skepticism.
 
Thursday, March 30
KP ch. 22, regress skepticism.
HK essay 33, P.F. Strawson, "Skepticism, Naturalism, and Transcendental Arguments."
 
Week 12
Tuesday, Apr. 4
HK essay 34, Ernest Sosa, "Philosophical Scepticism and Epistemic Circularity."
HK essay 35, Barry Stroud, "Scepticism, 'Externalism', and the Goal of Epistemology."
 
Thursday, Apr. 6
HK essay 26, William P. Alston, "Concepts of Epistemic Justification."
 
Week 13
 
Tuesday, Apr. 11 Spring Break--No class
 
Thursday, Apr. 13 Spring Break--No class
 
Week 14
Tuesday, Apr. 18
KP ch. 23, foundationalism.
KP ch. 25, coherentism.
Thursday, Apr. 20 
HK essay 27, Ernest Sosa, "The Raft and the Pyramid: Cohernece versus Foundations in the Thoery of Knowledge."
 
Week 15
Tuesday, Apr. 25
KP ch. 24, contextualism.
HK essay 28, David B. Amis, "A Contextualist Theory of Epistemic Justification."
 
Thursday, Apr. 27 Instructor Presenting at Central Division APA--No class
 
Week 16
Tuesday, May 2
HK essay 29, Richard Feldman and Earl Conee, "Evidentialism."
 
Thursday, May 4
KP ch. 26, pyrrhonian skepticism.
KP ch. 27, questioning epistemology.
HK essay 30, Stephen Stich, "Reflective Equilibrium, Analytic Epistemology, and the Problem of Cognitive Diversity."
 
Week 17--Final Exam Period
Monday, May 8, 5:30-7:30 PM
Tuesday, May 9
Wednesday, May 10
Thursday, May 11
Friday, May 12
Saturday, May 13